Just another WordPress.com site

Fanatical kite parents?

Being a Canadian i’m used to fanatical hockey parents. The ones who are defined by their kids sport. They always have something to talk about at parties. They are put in better social circles if they’re child is gifted. You know the ones. Well, I actually met one of these fanatical parents at the kite beach near Corpus Christy, Texas. I could not believe it. She was a single mom with two teenage boys. They drove from Dallas to Corpus Christy every weekend to kite, a three hour drive each way. She had coolers of drinks, food, camera’s, hats, sunscreen…… she was on it. I approached the oldest boy to ask him how he liked his liquid force kite he was riding and the mom answered. She gave me a 10 minute detailed description on the boys gear and riding history. When I asked her if she kite surfed as well she said she has never tried. I was instantly amazed that a woman who doesn’t know anything about kite surfing knew so much. I asked a few more questions just to see how far this over parenting would go and to my surprise she knew absolutely everything there was to know. Amazing! When her boys went to switch off (they only had 1 kite between the 2 of them) she was right there telling them what to do and how to do it. Then when they were riding she was taking pictures and videos. Don’t get me wrong I think the support was great but the way she treated these kids I thought they were 12 and 14 years old so when I asked them how old they were and they said 17 and 19 I was shocked. Watching this display really made me think about how far kitesurfing has come. The fact that the sport has grown to a point where parents are saving up to buy their kids kite gear and sitting on the side lines bragging to others about the gear or their kids abilities is amazing. It puts me right back in the hockey arena were I spent many years of my life watching my little brother grow up. I can’t wait to see what happens in the next 5 years!

One response

  1. Wow Jessica… lucky kids… ;-)

    I get your point though, and I do think it is great to see that kitesurfing is maturing as a sport.

    While you may be right that this mom was perhaps over parenting in a way, I still think it is great to see parents supporting their kids with sport, and we all know that kitesurfing isn’t as cheap as say soccer… Just as long as the parents don’t force their kids to do anything. This is the quickest way to kill any passion a kid may develop for sports…

    I say, nurture them and create opportunities, but let them find their own way, and they will have a better chance at being successful.

    August 2, 2011 at 12:08 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.