Just another WordPress.com site

The kite community, friendliest group of people

The thing I love about the kiteboarding community is everyone is so open and friendly. I travel around the world a lot by myself and when I get to a new location one of the first things I do is look for the locals who kitesurf either by word of mouth or via media. Every time I email random people or facebook friend requests to strangers in the area they usually accept or respond right away. They are warm, friendly and helpful. I’m not sure if it’s because i’m a girl which makes people more open to talking to me but whatever it is, i’m stoked.

I just arrived two days ago in Merida, Mexico and last night I came across a competition / party ¬†happening close to here on Saturday. I took my chances and friend requested the people who were attending. Within an hour, half of them accepted. One of the attendees who also lives in Merida chatted me and after talking for a bit decided to hang out. He didn’t speak english and my spanish is not great so it was very difficult to chat via facebook. He picked me up one hour later and took me to meet half the kitesurfers in town. Everyone I met was very receptive and even invited me to ride with them anytime. This is not something i’ve encountered in snowboarding, surfing or anything other sport to this extent. It makes me proud to be part of such a great group of people. There is just something different about people who kitesurf. It is such a unique sport, completely solitary but very communal too.

When I thanked my new friend for being so kind and picking me up, he said “you kitesurf, we take care of each other so its no problem”. So true…… :)

3 responses

  1. So true! The fact that no matter where you kite with in minutes of being there your exchanging info and making a best friend is unreal. I don’t know any other sport that has this quality!

    August 3, 2011 at 7:18 pm

  2. I agree Jessica… in fact, I would go so far as to say surfing is the exact opposite. I have traveled all over to surf, and 8 out of 10 times have been met with hostility rather than a welcome. The whole surf spot territory rivalry in play… and it isn’t my personality if that is what you are thinking… I am a very friendly likable guy… ;-)

    August 3, 2011 at 11:51 pm

  3. I have had the same experience in surfing and snowboarding (alpine). Its sad really, however I do understand the less people in your riding area the more fun you have. It’s nice kitesurfing is still new enough it’s uncrowded (for the most part) and there are still lots of spots in the world that are untouched!

    August 3, 2011 at 11:56 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.